C.M.H.B Member Profiles

Milton Township Community Mental Health Board (708 Board)

In 2020, Milton Township voters approved a referendum that established the Milton Township Community Mental Health Board to fund mental health, intellectual and developmental disabilities, and substance abuse programs that serve township residents. In July 2021, Milton Township Supervisor John Monino appointed seven Milton Township residents to serve on the board. This board is charged with using Township tax levied funds to address identified community needs in these areas.

Shannon Hartnett, President

Shannon Hartnett, M.A., a Wheaton resident, is President of the Milton Township 708 Board and Executive Director of Northeast DuPage Family and Youth Services (NEDFYS), a local community-based mental health agency.

Term expires December 31, 2024



Kara R. Murphy, MS

Kara Murphy, MS, a Glen Ellyn resident, is Board Secretary for the Milton Township 708 Board and the President of the DuPage Health Coalition, a local nonprofit which coordinates safety net health services for low income and uninsured residents of DuPage County.  

Term expires December 31, 2024.

Drew Ellis, Trustee Liaison

Drew is a Banker by profession and brings over 35+ years of experience in the business and municipal finance and credit risk management and auditing. Throughout his career, he has worked with several local financial institutions.

Term expires December 31, 2024.

Christine Evans

Christine Evans, MSW, LCSW, is the Coordinator of the Money Management Volunteer Program at DuPage County Senior Services. She started the program at DuPage County over 20 years ago and has developed it to serve hundreds of seniors. 

Term expires December 31, 2026.

Abby Oliver

Abby Oliver is a Wheaton resident, who works at a local consulting firm which helps organizations and individuals reach their maximum potential. She is excited to bring her passion for mental health advocacy and the Milton Township community to the board.

Term expires December 31, 2026.

Robert Lyon

Robert Lyon, a 55 year Milton Town resident, is retired from Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago where he held a variety of banking supervision and risk management responsibilities. After retirement he completed 10 financial sector reform assignments in Central Asia, Eastern Europe, and North Africa on behalf of the State Department and USAID.

Term expires December 31, 2027.

Jenny Burke

Jenny Burke, J.D., M.S., a resident of Glen Ellyn who owns her own consulting firm, helps employers ensure they are supporting their employees with evidence-based mental health and substance use education, programs and policies. Jenny was formerly the Vice President of Workplace Wellbeing Solutions at the National Safety Council and has over 20 years’ experience practicing and advising clients on health law and policy. Over the years, Jenny has worked with numerous community, government, for- and not-for profit organizations, advocating on a variety of public health issues.

Term expires December 31, 2027.

Skip to content