MILTON TOWNSHIP ANNUAL MEETING

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

The Annual Meeting of Milton Township, County of DuPage was held at the Wheaton Park District Community Center, Wheaton, Illinois, on April 9, 2019, at 7:00 p.m. There were four guests; and sixty-one electors, including eight Township elected officials. The elected officials in attendance were: Supervisor O. Chris Heidorn, Town Clerk Gail P. Hinkle, Highway Commissioner Gary Muehlfelt, Assessor Chris LeVan, and Trustees Sal Falbo, Yadav Nathwani, David Molitor and John Monino.

The meeting was called to order by Town Clerk Hinkle at 7:00 p.m. followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by Mrs. Ruth Miller of Wheaton.

Clerk Hinkle introduced the elected officials.

The first order of business was a call by the Clerk for the nominations of a Moderator for the Annual Meeting. Dr. Bob Krzyzewski of Wheaton nominated Pat Bond to serve as Moderator. Mr. Pat Ryan of Glen Ellyn seconded the nomination. No other nominations were presented and the nominations were closed on the motion of Mr. Russ Danwin of Carol Stream, seconded by Mr. Drew Ellis of Wheaton. Mr. Bond was unanimously elected Moderator by voice vote.

Clerk Hinkle administered the Oath of Moderator to Mr. Bond who then conducted the meeting.

Mr. Bond indicated a long history and legacy of dedicated public servants who have served Milton Township for many years. With great sadness, Mr. Bond announced the passing of Ron Smith. Mr. Smith served as Supervisor, and a long standing precinct committeeman for Milton Township. Mr. Bond had asked for the indulgence of this organization, to join in a moment of silence for Mr. Smith.

Moderator Bond introduced Chris Heidorn as the Parliamentarian and Drew Ellis as the Sergeant-at-arms for tonight's meeting.

Mr. Bond recognized Clerk Hinkle who explained the meeting procedure rules.

Mr. Bond stated that as required by law, the Township Board approved the Agenda as presented at the March 12, 2019 Township Board Meeting. Copies of the Agenda and copies of the Minutes for the April 10, 2018 Annual Meeting are made available for all attendees of this meeting.

Mrs. Fiona Muehlfelt of Wheaton moved, seconded by Mr. Jay Gribauskas of Lombard, to dispense with the reading of the Minutes and to approve the Minutes of April 10, 2018. The motion carried by voice vote.

Mr. Bond announced dispensing of the reading of the Supervisor's Annual Financial Statement that was issued to each attendee of this meeting.

Supervisor Heidorn gave a power point presentation on Milton Township and how it serves our community. Milton Township performs vital functions for our citizenry in a prudent, thoughtful and cost effective manner. Our officials and staff conduct themselves with honor, integrity and a true spirit of public service. Mr. Heidorn briefly discussed the different Departments of the Township; Assessor's Office, Highway Department, Community Emergency Response Team, Senior & Law-enforcement Together Program, the Food Pantry and General Assistance, Cemetery Authority, Special Police District, Mosquito Abatement Program and Ride DuPage program for seniors and disabled persons of all ages. The next order of business was the consideration of the proposed Resolutions. A written explanation of the purpose of each Resolution was presented along with written copies of the proposed Resolutions. Mrs. Kasi Steinhilber of Glen Ellyn moved, seconded by Mr. Carl Lofgren of Wheaton, to dispense with the reading of the Resolutions. The motion passed by voice vote.

Mr. Marty Keller of Wheaton moved, seconded by Mr. Drew Ellis of Wheaton, to approve as presented the Resolution entitled, *"Authorizing certain Powers to the Township Board"*. The motion passed by voice vote. The Resolution is attached and made a part of these minutes.

Mr. Chuck Smith of Wheaton moved, seconded by Mr. Drew Ellis of Wheaton, to approve as presented the Resolution entitled, *"Authorizing Certain Powers to the Township Board"*. The motion passed by voice vote. The Resolution is attached and made a part of these minutes.

Mr. Chuck Smith of Wheaton moved, seconded by Mrs. Penni Cannova of Wheaton, to approve as presented the proposed Resolution entitled *"Fixing Hour for Township Meetings"*. The motion passed by voice vote. The Resolution is attached and made a part of these minutes.

Open Forum - None.

Mr. Bond stated how proud he is to be a part of Milton Township; a great place to raise a family. Mr. Bond thanked the elected officials of Milton Township for being good stewards of our finances and for providing the services that are not provided by other units of government. Township government is one of the most efficient forms of government and most local form of government.

There being no further business to come before the electors, the meeting adjourned at 7:28 p.m. upon the motion of Mr. Marty Keller of Wheaton, seconded by Mr. Chuck Smith of Wheaton. The motion carried by voice vote.

/S/ <u>Gail P. Hinkle</u> Gail P. Hinkle, Town Clerk

/S/<u>Patrick Bond</u> Patrick Bond, Moderator

Date Minutes were approved April 21, 2020.