## MILTON TOWNSHIP ANNUAL MEETING

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

The Annual Meeting of Milton Township, County of DuPage was held at the Wheaton Park District Community Center, Wheaton, Illinois, on Tuesday, April 12, 2016, at 7:30 p.m. There were forty-five electors, including eight Township elected officials and two guests for a total attendance of forty-seven. The elected officials in attendance were: Supervisor O. Chris Heidorn, Town Clerk Gail P. Hinkle, Highway Commissioner Gary Muehlfelt, Assessor Chris LeVan, and Trustees Sal Falbo, Marty Keller, Yadav Nathwani and David Molitor.

The meeting was called to order by Town Clerk Hinkle at 7:30 p.m. followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by Mr. Herb Wehling.

Clerk Hinkle introduced the elected officials.

The first order of business was a call by the Clerk for the nominations of a Moderator for the Annual Meeting. Dr. Bob Krzyzewski of Wheaton nominated Mr. Pat Bond of Wheaton to serve as Moderator. Pat Ryan of Glen Ellyn seconded the nomination. No other nominations were presented and the nominations were closed on the motion of Lori Carlson of Glen Ellyn, seconded by Dagmar Loftgren of Wheaton. Mr. Bond was unanimously elected Moderator by voice vote.

The Clerk administered the Oath of Moderator to Mr. Bond who then conducted the meeting.

Mr. Bond welcomed everyone to the 166<sup>th</sup> Milton Township Annual Meeting. Township government dates back to 1636 originating in Providence Rhode Island. Township government is the oldest existing unit of government continuing to serve in the North America continent and was in existence 140 years prior to the signing of the Declaration of Independence. The Illinois constitution of 1848, gave the voters the opportunity to adopt Township government. 85 of the 102 counties in Illinois operate under Township government today. By law, Townships perform three basic functions: General Assistance for the needy and indigent, assessment of real property and the maintenance of roads and bridges. In 1850, Jesse C. Wheaton served as the first Supervisor for Milton Township.

Mr. Bond introduced Chris Heidorn as the Parliamentarian and Drew Ellis as the Sergeant-at-arms for the meeting.

Moderator Bond recognized Clerk Hinkle who explained the meeting procedure rules.

Mr. Bond stated that as required by law, the Township Board approved the Agenda as presented at the March 8, 2016 Township Board Meeting. Copies of the Agenda and copies of the minutes for the April 14, 2015 Annual Meeting are made available for all attendees of this meeting.

Carl Loftgren of Wheaton moved, seconded by Stan Borris of Naperville, to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to approve the minutes of April 14, 2015. The motion carried by voice vote.

Mr. Bond announced dispensing of the reading of the Supervisor's Annual Financial Statement that was issued to each attendee of this meeting.

Mr. Bond recognized Supervisor O. Chris Heidorn. Mr. Heidorn presented a brief summary of the township's financial status. Milton Township is in outstanding financial shape. As always, we have no debt. We live within our means. Mr. Heidorn discussed the topic of the elimination and consolidation of townships in the State of Illinois.

Page 2

He stressed the fact the representatives in Springfield who are putting forth all of these propositions against township government have the biggest financial mess on their hands and have the inability to resolve their issues. Every tax payer should notice their tax bill. See where your money is going. A very small percentage goes to the

townships.

The next order of business was consideration of the proposed resolutions. A written explanation of the purpose of each resolution was presented along with written copies of the proposed resolutions. Grant Eckhoff of Wheaton, moved, seconded by John Schreiber of Glen Ellyn to dispense with the reading of the proposed resolutions. The

motion passed by voice vote.

Drew Ellis of Wheaton, moved, seconded by Ralph Hinkle of Wheaton to approve as presented the proposed Resolution entitled "Authorizing Certain Powers to the Township Board". The motion passed by voice vote. The

Resolution is attached and made a part of these minutes.

Fiona Muehlfelt of Wheaton moved, seconded by Jay Gribauskas of Lombard to approve as presented the proposed resolution entitled "Fixing Hour for Township Meetings". Next year's meeting will start at 7:00 p.m.

The motion passed by voice vote. The Resolution is attached and made a part of these minutes.

Mr. Bond announced the 167<sup>th</sup> Milton Township Annual Meeting will be held next year on Tuesday, April 11, 2017.

Open Forum for Electors: None.

Mr. Bond thanked the elected officials for the services that they provide to the citizens of Milton Township. Township government is the most localized government. It is a place where people can go to be heard; a government of the people. Mr. Bond thanked Town Clerk, Gail P. Hinkle, for her responsibilities in organizing the

set up for this Annual Meeting.

There being no further business to come before the electors, the meeting adjourned at 7:48 p.m. upon the motion

of Anatonio Lollino of Glen Ellyn, seconded by Roger Bohn of Glen Ellyn. The motion carried by voice vote.

S/ Gail 39. Hinkle

Gail P. Hinkle, Town Clerk

/S/ Patrick K. Bond

Patrick K. Bond, Moderator