MILTON TOWNSHIP ANNUAL MEETING

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

The Annual Meeting of Milton Township, County of DuPage was held at the Wheaton Park District Community Center, Wheaton, Illinois, on April 10, 2018, at 7:00 p.m. There were forty electors, including eight Township elected officials. The elected officials in attendance were: Supervisor O. Chris Heidorn, Town Clerk Gail P. Hinkle, Highway Commissioner Gary Muehlfelt, Assessor Chris LeVan, and Trustees Sal Falbo, Yadav Nathwani, David Molitor and John Monino.

The meeting was called to order by Town Clerk Hinkle at 7:00 p.m. followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by Mr. Herb Wehling.

Clerk Hinkle introduced the elected officials.

The first order of business was a call by the Clerk for the nominations of a Moderator for the Annual Meeting. Dr. Bob Krzyzewski of Wheaton nominated Mary Dickson to serve as Moderator. Pat Ryan of Glen Ellyn seconded the nomination. No other nominations were presented and the nominations were closed on the motion of Chuck Smith of Wheaton, seconded by Drew Ellis of Wheaton. Mrs. Dickson was unanimously elected Moderator by voice vote.

Clerk Hinkle administered the Oath of Moderator to Mrs. Dickson who then conducted the meeting.

Mrs. Dickson welcomed everyone to the Milton Township Annual Meeting. Mrs. Dickson presented a short presentation on the history of Township Government. This is the 168th Annual Township Meeting held in Milton Township. Township Government dates back to 1636 in Providence Rhode Island. Township Government is the oldest existing unit of Government continuing to serve on the North American continent. The Illinois Constitution of 1848 gave the voters the opportunity to adopt Township Government. 85 of 102 Counties, here in Illinois, operate under Township form of government. 1,400 Townships serve 8 million citizens in the State of Illinois. By law the Illinois Township Government serve three basic functions: General Assistance for the needy and the indigent, Assessment of property and maintenance of Roads and Bridges. Milton Township came into existence in 1850. Jesse C. Wheaton was the first elected Supervisor. We are here to insure the consent of the governed for the actions taking place in Milton Township. The Annual Town Meeting is one of the few statutory provisions for the electorates have a direct say in the operation of Township Government.

Moderator Dickson introduced Chris Heidorn as the Parliamentarian and Drew Ellis as the Sergeant-at-arms for tonight's meeting.

Mrs. Dickson recognized Clerk Hinkle who explained the meeting procedure rules.

Mrs. Dickson stated that as required by law, the Township Board approved the Agenda as presented at the March 13, 2018 Township Board Meeting. Copies of the Agenda and copies of the Minutes for the April 11, 2017 Annual Meeting are made available for all attendees of this meeting.

Mr. Antonio Lollino of Glen Ellyn moved, seconded by Mr. Jay Gribauskas of Lombard, to dispense with the reading of the Minutes and to approve the Minutes of April 11, 2017. The motion carried by voice vote.

Mrs. Dickson announced dispensing of the reading of the Supervisor's Annual Financial Statement that was issued to each attendee of this meeting.

Moderator Dickson recognized Supervisor Chris Heidorn. Mr. Heidorn welcomed everyone to the 168th Annual Township Meeting. Mr. Heidorn congratulated Mr. John Monino for being appointed to the Board of Trustees; to Mr. Marty Keller who now heads the CERT Program, and to Mr. Chuck Smith who now is Chairman of the S.A.L.T. Committee. Mr. Heidorn addressed the issue of consolidating/eliminating Township Governments. Supervisor Heidorn believes in smaller, more responsive government. Milton Township is in good financial shape. We have no debt, we pay our bills on time and never have asked for an increase by referendum. It's a pleasure to serve the public of Milton Township.

The next order of business was the consideration of the proposed Resolutions. A written explanation of the purpose of each Resolution was presented along with written copies of the proposed Resolutions. Mrs. Fiona Muehlfelt of Wheaton moved, seconded by Mr. Bob Cherry of Wheaton, to dispense with the reading of the Resolutions. The motion passed by voice vote.

Mrs. Lori Carlson of Glen Ellyn moved, seconded by Mr. Chuck Smith of Wheaton, to approve as presented the resolution entitled, "Authorizing Certain Powers to the Township Board". The motion passed by voice vote and made a part of these minutes.

Mr. Carl Lofgren of Wheaton moved, seconded by Mrs. Dagmar Lofgren of Wheaton, to approve as presented the proposed resolution entitled *"Fixing Hour for Township Meetings"*. The motion passed by voice vote. The Resolution is attached and made a part of these minutes.

Open Forum - None.

There being no further business to come before the electors, the meeting adjourned at 7:16 p.m. upon the motion of Mrs. Paula McGowen of Glen Ellyn, seconded by Mrs. Penni Cannova of Wheaton. The motion carried by voice vote.

*Gail P. Hinkle*Gail P. Hinkle, Town Clerk

Mary Dickson
Mary Dickson, Moderator

Date Minutes were approved April 9, 2019