REGULAR MEETING OF THE MILTON TOWNSHIP BOARD

May 15, 2012

A Regular Meeting of the Milton Township Board was held in the Board Room of the Milton Town Hall, 1492 N. Main Street, Wheaton, Illinois, on Tuesday, May 15, 2012, for the audit of town bills followed immediately by a business meeting.

Board Members Present: Supervisor O. Chris Heidorn - Clerk Gail P. Hinkle - Trustees James D. Flickinger, Sal Falbo, and Marie Jensen. Other Elected Officials Present: Highway Commissioner Gary Muehlfelt and Assessor Robert Earl. Also Present Ralph Hinkle, Connie Sunderhaus, Doris Nelson, Mark Kmiecik, Bob Jacobsen, Jack Boepple, Dan Roeda, Chris LeVan, Marty Keller, Michelle Manchir, Joe Vanest, Antonio Lollino, Drew Ellis, Alan Bolds, Dawn Earl, Paul McGowen and Charlotte Ericksen.

The business meeting was called to order by Chairman Heidorn at 7:30 p.m. Alan Bolds led the Pledge of Allegiance. A quorum was present and acting, and due notice had been mailed.

Trustee Jensen moved, seconded by Trustee Falbo, to approve the agenda as presented. The motion passed by voice vote.

Trustee Falbo moved, seconded by Chairman Heidorn, that the minutes of the Regular Meeting on April 3, 2012, be approved as submitted. Discussion followed. The motion passed by voice vote.

Having concluded their audit of the Township bills in the earlier segment of the meeting, Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Falbo, that the bills having been audited be paid and charged to the proper accounts, and the certificates of accounts be filed by the Clerk for inspection by the inhabitants of the Township. Following discussion, the motion passed on the following roll-call vote: 3 Ayes: Trustees Falbo, Jensen, and Chairman Heidorn. 1 Nay: Trustee Flickinger.

Public Forum – Paula McGowen, from unincorporated Glen Ellyn, thanked the Board for allowing the public to speak freely on concerns that they may have. Mrs. McGowen asked Chairman Heidorn the names of the three Sheriff Deputies that patrol unincorporated Glen Ellyn. Doris Nelson, from unincorporated Glen Ellyn, voiced her concern regarding a client, from Walk-in Ministry. The client was denied assistance from Milton Township. Mrs. Nelson requested the guide lines for assistance from the Township.

Chairman's Report:

- General Assistance/Food Pantry Chairman Heidorn reported on the Postal Food Drive that was held on May 12, 2012. Volunteers are always needed at these events.
- Miscellaneous/Other Chairman Heidorn had attended the 30th Annual Township Topics Day in Springfield on May 8, 2012. Chairman Heidorn presented to the Board members a copy of the report on the Township Road Cost Study. To maintain the Township roads in DuPage County, the cost averages \$23,654.00 per lane. To maintain the roads in DuPage County, the cost is approximately \$41,800. At the State level the cost is \$66,140.00. The purpose of this study is to compare the actual costs of maintaining the Township Roads of DuPage County versus the cost of maintaining roads by the County of DuPage and the State of Illinois. The Townships, at least in DuPage County, are more cost effective at maintaining their roads than either the County or the State of Illinois. Mr. Heidorn had presented copies of this report to the DuPage County Representatives and Senators in Springfield.

Chairman Heidorn gave a copy to the Board of an e-mail that he had sent to the DuPage County Representatives regarding HB 3637. The Democrats want to take over our personal property replacement tax. Mr. Heidorn had asked the Representatives to oppose this House Bill.

Highway Commissioner Muehlfelt – No Report.

Assessor Robert Earl- No Report.

Clerk Hinkle reported on helping a young girl receive a youth scholarship, ten years ago, to play soccer at a local Park District. This young girl is now graduating from North Central College being honored for her skills in playing soccer for the Wisconsin and Illinois all-conference women's soccer team. She is now in Brazil representing the USA D-3 Soccer All-Star team. Her mother came into the office to thank Milton Township for helping her daughter succeed in her dreams of becoming a soccer star.

Cemeteries Authority - Committee Chairman Jacobsen passed out to the Board and to the public, a flyer on the upcoming holiday events planned for the (3) Pioneer Cemeteries. Mr. Jacobsen thanked the volunteers for their effort in maintaining the cemeteries.

Mike Abbot was thanked for pruning the trees at Pleasant Hill Cemetery at no cost to the Milton Township Cemeteries Authority. Mr. Ribich's son, Paul and his friends, volunteered to pull garlic mustard weeds from Jewell Grove Cemetery.

Unfinished Business - None.

New Business -

Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Falbo to accept the T.O.I.R.M.A. renewal contract for 2012-2013. The motion passed by voice vote. (4 Ayes) (0 Nays).

Appointment of Trustee: Chairman Heidorn invited each applicant to address the audience of their qualifications for serving on the Board as Trustee. There were three applicants: Alan Bolds, Jack Boepple and Marty Keller.

Trustee Falbo moved, seconded by Chairman Heidorn, to recess to Executive Session (8:00 p.m.) to consider the appointment to fill the Edward's vacancy. 5 ILCS 120/2(C)(1). The motion passed on the following roll-call vote: (3 Ayes) Trustees Falbo, Jensen, and Chairman Heidorn. (1 Nay): Trustee Flickinger.

Chairman Heidorn proclaimed the Executive Session adjourned, by a unanimous voice vote. The motion passed (4 Ayes) (8:10 p.m.).

Chairman Heidorn called the Board meeting back to order at 8:12 p.m. Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Falbo to appoint Martin Keller to fill the vacancy of Trustee Edwards. Chairman Heidorn commented that all the candidates were of good standing and well qualified for the position. The motion passed on the following roll-call vote: (3 Ayes) Trustees Falbo, Jensen and Chairman Heidorn. (1 Nay) Trustee Flickinger.

Chairman Heidorn announced the resignation of Ken McNatt as Chairman of the Senior's Committee, S.A.L.T. Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Flickinger, to appoint Joe Vanest as the new Senior's Committee Chairman and Jodi Hefler as the Senior's Committee Vice Chairman. The motion passed by voice vote. (4 Ayes).

Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Jensen, to nominate Dr. Gene Morrissy to be appointed to the position of Trustee on the Glen Ellyn Mosquito Abatement District. The motion passed by voice vote. (4 Ayes).

Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Falbo, to approve the temporary easement at Pleasant Hill Cemetery for the County. The motion passed by voice vote. (4 Ayes).

Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Falbo, to appoint Chris LeVan to the Milton Township Ethics Commission. After discussion, the motion passed by voice vote. (3 Ayes): Trustees Falbo, Jensen and Chairman Heidorn. (1 Nay): Trustee Flickinger.

Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Falbo, to appoint Yadav Nathwani to the Milton Township Ethics Commission. After discussion, the motion passed by voice vote. (3 Ayes): Trustees Falbo, Jensen and Chairman Heidorn. (1 Nay): Trustee Flickinger.

Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Falbo, to appoint Connie Sunderhaus to the Milton Township Ethics Commission. After discussion, the motion passed by voice vote. (4 Ayes): Trustees Flickinger, Falbo, Jensen and Chairman Heidorn.

Trustee Flickinger commented/questioned the following issues:

- 1. The audio/video devices that were installed in the Township building.
- 2. The electronic sign in front of the Township building.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Trustee Jensen moved, seconded by Chairman Heidorn that the meeting stand adjourned. The motion carried by voice vote, and the meeting adjourned at 8:30 p.m.

Gail P. Hinkle Gail P. Hinkle, Township Clerk

Date minutes were approved ______.