REGULAR MEETING OF THE MILTON TOWNSHIP BOARD

May 10, 2011

A Regular Meeting of the Milton Township Board was held at the Wheaton Park District Community Center, 1777 S. Blanchard Road Wheaton, Illinois, on Tuesday, May 10, 2011, for the audit of town bills followed immediately by a business meeting.

Board Members Present: Supervisor O. Chris Heidorn - Clerk Gail P. Hinkle - Trustees James D. Flickinger, Sal Falbo, Christopher Edwards and Marie Jensen. Other Elected Officials Present: Highway Commissioner Gary Muehlfelt. Absent: Assessor Robert Earl. Also Present: Bob Jacobsen, Chris Levan, Ralph G. Hinkle, Jack Boepple and Joe Vanest.

The business meeting was called to order by Chairman Heidorn at 7:30 p.m. Chris Levan led the Pledge of Allegiance. A quorum was present and acting, and due notice had been mailed.

Trustee Flickinger moved, seconded by Trustee Edwards, to approve the agenda as presented. The motion passed by voice vote.

Trustee Falbo moved, seconded by Trustee Flickinger, that the minutes of the Regular Meeting on April 5, 2011, be approved as submitted. The motion passed by voice vote.

Having concluded their audit of the Township bills in the earlier segment of the meeting, Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Edwards, that the bills having been audited be paid and charged to the proper accounts, and the certificates of accounts be filed by the Clerk for inspection by the inhabitants of the Township. Trustee Jensen moved, seconded by Trustee Edwards, to amend to exclude the claim that does not meet the requirement of documentation for expense reimbursement. This claim pertains to employee, Kathy Zinga. The motion passed by voice vote: 4 Ayes and 1 Nay. Following discussion, the motion for the approval of the claims passed on the following roll-call vote: 5 Ayes: Trustees Flickinger, Falbo, Edwards, Jensen and Chairman Heidorn. 0 Nays.

Public Forum – None.

Chairman's Report:

- General Assistance/Food Pantry Chairman Heidorn reported that Patrick Ryan has retired after serving 10 years working in the General Assistance Department. If necessary, Chairman Heidorn will replace Patrick Ryan's position with a part-time employee. There will be a "Stamp Out Hunger Food Drive", sponsored by the National Association of Letter Carriers, on May 14, 2011. We need volunteers to help sort the food at the Township Office.
- Citizen Corps/Homeland Security Class "Henry" made up of thirty-four Morton Arboretum volunteers started on May 5th.
- Building Renovation The building is completed and the Supervisor's side has moved back and is in full operation. The Assessor Department is still in the process of moving in.
- Miscellaneous/Other None.

Highway Commissioner Muehlfelt reported on attending the Township Topics Day with Trustee Falbo in Springfield on April 6, 2011. Denny Choyeski, a thirty-five year employee of the Milton Township Highway Department will be retiring in the month of June. Senate Bill 173, sponsored by Terry Link, was defeated. The purpose of this Bill would eliminate local governments throughout the state. The Township Board thanked Mr. Muehlfelt for his effort in lobbying against this Bill that would have eliminated Township Government.

Clerk Hinkle reported – None.

Seniors Committee – Vice Chairman Joe Vanest reported on the S.A.L.T. meeting in May. Associate Judge for the Eighteenth Judicial Circuit Court, Thomas Dudgeon was the guest speaker. The Annual Auto Inspection for seniors will be held on October 15, 2011.

Cemeteries Authority - Committee Chairman Jacobsen reported that the Memorial Day Service will be held at the Jewell Grove Cemetery on May 28, 2011, at 11:00 a.m. Mr. Jacobsen passed out a booklet on the history of the Marino Sheep that was brought to the DuPage County area from the state of Vermont.

Unfinished Business - None.

New Business – Chairman Heidorn reported on the T.O.I.R.M.A. renewal for 2010-2011. There was an increase of \$3,000.00.

Chairman Heidorn presented the proposed Resolution R-11-4, Identity-Protection Policy. Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Flickinger, to adopt Resolution R-11-4 entitled "*Identity-Protection Policy*". The motion passed by voice vote (5 Ayes). (0 Nays). The Resolution is attached and made a part of these minutes.

Appointment or Reappointment of the Ethics Commission members – Chairman Heidorn moved, seconded by Trustee Jensen to nominate Jack Boepple to serve as the Democrat member and Jeanne Ives to serve as the Republican member of the Ethics Commission. The motion passed by voice vote. (5 Ayes) and (0 Nays).

Chairman Heidorn announced the hiring of a part-time bookkeeper, Mrs. Loydeen Reichman

There being no further business to come before the Board, Trustee Falbo moved, seconded by Trustee Jensen that the meeting stand adjourned. The motion carried by voice vote, and the meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

	Gail F. Hinkle
	Gail P. Hinkle, Township Clerk
Date minutes were approved	